Miso glazed cod

Recently, I became absolutely obsessed with miso. I can’t remember how it started exactly. I believe I read an article about how good it is for you, then started ordering miso soup at Pret to accompany my lunch at work, then buying miso soup sachets to make my own soup anytime I wanted to… and last week I finally bought a jar of blond miso to add to my cooking. I’m hooked, and should probably now look for an article about the risk of too much miso.

In the meantime, I have had time to try miso glazed cod and oh. my. lord. how good is this?! For those who live in London, Nobu is obviously *the* place to go to have miso glazed black cod (Black Cod Den Miso). It is one of the most expensive dishes on the menu (£42, no less) but I always say that there is almost no point going to Nobu at all if you are not ordering the black cod. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Nobu and there are many many good things on their menu that one should treat oneself to. But the black cod is and remains on top of the list. It is seriously one of the best things I have ever eaten in my life.

Well, good news, I can now make it at home!! For my first try, I cooked with regular white cod fillets (responsibly sourced, please, of course), just in case it didn’t turn out well – I didn’t want to risk waste expensive and rare black cod! It turned out delicious, definitely one of the finest mid-week dinners we had had in a while. Will make it again, and sooner rather than later.

Miso glazed cod and egg fried rice

 

INGREDIENTS – for 4 servings

  • 4 cod fillets (black or regular)
  • 80 ml of low-sodium blond miso
  • 50 grams of dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp of  sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp of mirin (Japanese cooking wine) I couldn’t find any so used white wine + a splash of rice vinegar.
  • Sesame seeds and spring onions (optional – to taste)

 

METHOD

  • Preheat your oven grill (or broiler)
  • In a bowl, combine the miso, brown sugar, sesame oil and wine. Stir until all of the sugar has fully dissolved and the mix is smooth and of a deep dark colour.
  • Brush about 2 tablespoons of this miso glaze on each fish fillet.
  • Marinate for 30min-1hr.
  • Place the fish fillets under the grill for a few minutes until the glaze has caramelised
  • Out of the oven, brush the fillets with the remaining miso glaze.
  • Return to grill and cook for an additional 10 minutes, so that the fish is flaky but not overcooked.

 

We served this with greens egg fried rice (in a wok: onions, garlic, 5-spice and chili in stir-fry oil. Once softened, add your vegetables to cook rapidly but remain crunchy. Then add cold white rice that you have cooked the day before with soy sauce. At the end, break an egg and mix well so it coats the rice. Adjust seasoning to taste).

This was a very very good surprise. It is very quick (the fish cooks in about 15 minutes max.), very tasty and, I’d say, rather healthy. It is already on this week’s menu!

Leave a Reply

